top of page

Once upon a Glare


 

Our eyes met and in that moment

With disbelieve he looked through his windowless door

And looked into my glistening mirror

For he saw me surrounded with two oyinbo’s and a chinese man

For I saw he’s doorless van surrounded by other Africans

For he saw that my car was air conditioned with a designated driver

For I saw that his skin glistened with sweat and the displeasure on his face

For he continued to stare into the depths of my soul with astonishment

For I saw him put his hand on his face in despair

For he looked at me again and saw another african

In a state different from his reality based on just chance

So he looked up to the sky and said a prayer

And then looked back at me

In that moment all the privileges I had hit me like a wave

For I did not know his story

But I knew his pain

I knew he had potential

I knew there were others like him

And so I searched inside myself

I realized that my actions had to make things right

To level the playing field


bottom of page