top of page

Lines of Life


She looked at my legs with disgust

My squiggled lines had begun to appear

Now she’s upset that this blemish had tainted my beauty

As though its was a forbidden mark

A mark that no one else would come to love

That no one else would come to love me

As I grow up I realized she wasn’t the only one who believed so much in this fallacy

Others too wanted to erase the squiggle lines

Using creams butters and so many other concoctions

In vain they all forget the significance of those lines

For they mark the beginning of life itself

I was only 13 when it started

And yet I had the power to create

To create another being

For what others did not notice was that the lines spiraled from my knee

They travelled up my inner thighs connecting to the source of life itself

The source is yet undermined and my whole body is viewed to be weak, inferior and unable

Yet the source using just two cells creates a living a human being

And her body endures pain that her counterparts have described to be unbearable

And to the world another girl child is born

Born into a world where she will earn only 70% compared to her counterpart for the same work

A world where theres a narrow, unrealistic sense of beauty

A world that continuously tries to contain her in a disfigured box

A world that might severe her dreams, her potential and vision

Yet at the same time she rises above it all

She rises like a mystic creature, expanding her wings

From the depths of the earth to the ends of it

Her capacity cannot be contained despite the chains that try to shackle her

At the same time she finds the courage and strength

To carry the burden of an entire generation on back

A back decor’d with timeless scars

For she knows full emancipation of others like her

Means that she her own squiggled lines would be seen from a different light

The lines would be seen as synapses that are necessary

As an adornment

Garnishing a creator of life.


bottom of page